We’re here to help make sure your business stays compliant and updated with current laws.
Below, we’ve provided California’s new template poster for employer compliance and the revised Wage Theft Notice. This new law requires employers in California to provide up to 24 hours (3 days) of mandatory sick leave to all employees, regardless of company size, beginning July 1, 2015.
Although this does not take effect until July 1, 2015, there are pieces of it that take place at the beginning of the year. Therefore, it is advisable for employers to start taking action and revising handbooks and leave policies in the beginning of 2015.
Part of this new law requires certain notices, postings, and record-keeping:
(1) Starting on 1/1/15 employers must display in a conspicuous area a poster telling employees about their rights under the new law. This poster has been provided by the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement.
(2) Starting on 1/1/15 employers must provide any new hires with the revised California Wage Theft form.
(3) Starting on 7/1/15, the amount of paid sick leave (or PTO) must be provided in writing to the employees on either the employee’s itemized wage statement, or in a separate writing provided on payday.
(4) You must keep for at least three years, records documenting the hours worked and paid sick days accrued and used by each employee.
You’ll discover working with a PEO is proven to be useful when implementing changes like this. We take the burdens of payroll, PTO, sick leave, and policy making off your shoulders. If you have any questions regarding these changes please contact us here.
The Updated Documents
For methods your business can use to implement the new sick leave laws see: